old | new | guestbook | profile | e-mail | aim | personal | fanzine | clix me | host

spite & malice
<<2001-11-11 - 2:57 a.m.>>

[ spinz ] kinky the dandy warhols Okay... I've tried like, four times to make an entry about the stuff I did in the past couple days, so I'll save that for when I'm not so y ing tired, and when I've got more patience.

Anyway, tonight was cool, if not a little odd. I'll tell you about it, because I'm excruciatingly bored and I lack anything to do, except talk to my new friend but he's like, not very entertaining. Cute as but kind of quiet. He actually reminds me of Lance, to an alarming degree... @.@;; but anyway. Back to my story, dammit. Okay, so, we went out to see Shallow Hal today - GAAHHH! DON'T SEE IT! ty movie alert! - and after we came back we rented some movies, yadda yadda yadda. So anyways, I rented SLC Punk and Velvet Goldmine. FUXORS! I pick good movies. SLC Punk was okay... it was sort of that stereotypical underground angsting teen movie that tries so hard to be profound yet superficial and tell things "like it is" but only succeeds in coming off as spindly and irritating. Spindly... isn't that such a good word? It's not such a good word to use to describe movies, but it's the only word I can think of. Rent it, but only watch it when your parents aren't home. It's pretty ed up. And Matthew Lillard, though moderately cute, tends to spit when he talks. And there's this one acid-trip scene in the movie that just totally throws the rest of the rhythm off. Um.. I'd tell you more but then I'd just sound like a prude, so I'll talk about Velvet Goldmine, since that was definitely the better of the two. Well, suffice to say, I could rant about this movie forever and never run out of things to say. But essentially, this is a gay o, cloaked in delicious visuals (these visuals including a young Jonathan Rhys Meyers kneeling in front of Ewan and... ahem... "servicing" his guitar - goddamn XD that was so ing Y O_O but well, there's lots of other visuals too, but... those are the best XD) and a flat plot. Okay, so the plot's not very flat, but it's way too meandering and confusing to be anything other than flat. Okay, I'll shut up about plot and and just tell you go ing rent it, it's the best movie I've seen in a long time. Ewan and JRM are soo hot... I only wish more had happened between Ewan and Christian Bale. =/ Christian Bale was like, *gorgeous* when he got older. It was funny how young he looked when he was supposed to be young, and how old he looked when he was supposed to be. o_O Um... yeah. Anyway, so my dad watched most of SLC Punk with me and all of VG. He thought SLC PUnk was a really good movie... but oddly enough, he called VG "bizarre" and "really weird" and stuff. He kinda seemed a little uncomfortable at the parts when Brian and Curt were getting... um... intimate, to put it lightly... but omg, I was drinking it up like a slash starved schoolgirl. I couldn't take my eyes off the screen! Well, I did get a lil squicked out when Brian and Mandy were getting it on and they were kind of explicit about it (imagine, a straight getting weirded out by straight , but turned on by gay o_O;;; inks I need to rethink my priorities..) but I watched the whole movie straight through. Did get a little uncomfortable when they had Ewan hopping around stage with his johnson flopping like a sock puppet @___@;;; but that was just because I'm a dumb little teenybopper who giggles when someone says "sex". o_O; hey, wait, that's not true... but anyway, I just thought it was kind of odd how he reacted to it. I wonder what he woulda done if I had made him watch "Get Real" XD (note to the uninitiated: Get Real is like, the essential gay teen movie. Rent it. Blockbuster. Yes.) Anyway... I had more to say... but I need to go to sleep. See ya.

- slade

ps: yeah... I got my name from VG, I admit it.. @.@ And my other diary is named slade-wilde... XD

Pps: another bonus and incentive for placebo fans to rent velvet goldmine - brian molko appears in three scenes. well, not three - he has approximately two speaking lines (goddamn, his voice is so cute), a singing part (his voice sounds TOTALLY different; it's not really nasal and warbling, it's like really... throaty, i guess o_O) and then a big picture of his face is projected onto a wall. um, that'll make sense if you rent the movie. and then i think there's a few instances where he's ogling christian bale. ha ha! o_o;;;;

<< - >>

design