old | new | guestbook | profile | e-mail | aim | personal | fanzine | clix me | host

on a bed of nails i wait
<<2002-07-05 - 2:09 pm>>

like my new layout? i freaking hope you do because this took me about SIX HOURS over THREE DAYS to make. god, i hope html dies in a hole.

well, it's only 2 pm and already i've CONQUERED THE WORLD. well, ok, not really, but NEARLY.

i went out to this big cool mall and bought two pairs of pants and two really cool shirts... one is blue and flowy and it has flowers embroidered on the neck. it's like a spanish senorita shirt. and not only is it good-looking, it makes ME good-looking to. it's very rare that i actually look GOOD in the clothes i buy, but that shirt really does the trick.

let's see, what else... i got a couple cds. i got jay farrar's "sebastopol" - don't ask me why, i really like that song "clear day thunder" - and the requiem for a dream soundtrack (*JOYGASM*)... i wanted the "LIE" and "y tu mama tambien" soundtrack as well but they didn't have them. rrrg. i was gonna get "queer as folk" for sam but it was too expensive, even for me. i also got elvis costello's new cd, yay, and our lady peace's new cd.

ok, well, i probably don't talk much about my old favorite bands... but there are like... "eras" of my life that i associate with music. i can remember how old i was when i liked a band, how long i liked them for, how much i liked them, and... lots of little details. our lady peace was my very first favorite band. i liked them from probably about third grade to fifth or sixth grade. (that's a LONG time.) i got most of my friends into olp, we even wrote FICS (i have a few of them saved!!! i might type them up just for you guys to see... they're SO hilarious!) and we'd walk around the soccer field during phys ed, singing "clumsy" and stuff. wow... good times. it was fun. after that was vast, who i liked from 1998-2001 (around when everything in my life started really going downward) and then in mid-2001 i found the strokes who i loved for... about six months? i can't remember. but that was a big deal. then, my friends, came COLDPLAY. woooo.

now, back to olp. they were a big part of my life when i was young, and i look back on that with bittersweet nostalgia. seeing "gravity" on the shelf, recognizing raine's face before i even read "OUR LADY PEACE" on the front... it gave me a jolt. about a billion emotions ran through me when i saw it. around the time i bought "spiritual machines" (their last album) i vowed that no matter what, no matter how bad they got (because they were getting really bad), i would always hold on to that part of me and keep buying their albums and continue listening to them because of what they meant to me. it hurts a bit too, though, because they used to be so godly, so amazingly brilliant... but if you bought "naveed" and listened to it for a week, and then bought "spiritual machines" and listened to it for a day, the difference is so staggering.

now, when i bought "gravity" (latest album, i think it only came out like a couple days ago?) and i opened the sleeve and looked at the lyrics... augh. i don't know. it made me want to cry because raine has obviously watered down his lyrics to fit the audience.

YOU compare:

I've read the Bible, I've read Dylan,
And I'm reading people now
Because it's much more chilling
But I sit, I sit on a satellite
With the stars made of gold
There's life in this hollow lens

- "Supersatellite," Naveed (first cd)

Hope you remember me
When you're home sick and need a change
I'll miss your purple hair
I'll miss the way you taste
I know you'll come back some day

- "Somewhere out there," Gravity (newest cd)

excuse me? "i miss your purple hair"? kill me, please!

god, ok, i'm done. phew. sorry. i just really had to get that out because it BOTHERS ME so much. stop being stupid, raine maida! i know you're not! really!!!

OMG OMG! ok ok so COLDPLAY!!!!!!!! i'm GETTING TICKETS!!!!!!

actually, you know what's weird about that? i thought i would be so much more excited. i really thought i'd be on the floor in a fetal position, sobbing and declaring my love for chris martin over and over again... but... i'm not. i mean, when i talk to roberta she gets me TOTALLY crazy, it's so great! but... i dunno... sigh. maybe it's best that i'm not completely insane over it. i might have a heart attack or something. i'm sure this "apathy" will relent the night of the show, though... THAT'S when the fetal position and sobbing will kick in.

i'm kind of nervous about it, because the tickets go on sale july 9th at 1pm, which is a tuesday. unfortunately, i'm going to be in summer school that time. which means my mother and/or one of her completely computer-inept friends will have to do it. AAAUUUUGHHHHHH. do you know how nervous that makes me? SO VERY NERVOUS. if they screw up... grrr... the paradise will sell out so fast, since it's so tiny. i need to stop worrying about it.

i just got the best idea! i'll get a counter to count down the days until the concert. I AM SO GENIUS!!!! now you guys can all be really jealous!!!

AWESOME!!!

last note: okay, so maybe our lady peace has gradually gotten stupider as the minutes go by, but they have a redeeming song. get "sorry" or "innocent". pretty good. i still love raine's voice.

<< - >>

design