old | new | guestbook | profile | e-mail | aim | personal | fanzine | clix me | host

angsty emo entry number 231240
<<2002-08-25 - 2:47 pm>>

i visited sigur-ros.co.uk to check what kjartan's last name was, in a bet against my friend (i won! ha!) but i also stumbled across news about sigur ros' new album. to be quite honest with you, it pissed me off... i don't understand it at all, but i'm in a horrible mood right now, and there's like three really immature people talking to me and i can't deal with them. erin is saving my sanity.

i think sigur ros is really cool for being so artsy and everything but they've pushed their coolness to this limit. their new album is basically named "( )". i'm not kidding. two parentheses. i can't deal with that! that's not funny or cute or endearing! that's STUPID! i don't care how cute their unibrows are, i fucking hate it. i do like hopelandic, and i think jonsi is such a fucking genius, but icelandic is the most gorgeous language. and the thing that made me fall in love with agaetis byrjun was that it was the most multi-layered lush album i had ever heard in my life. there were so many thousands upon thousands of things in it that you had to listen to for a hundred times before you could understand it all. and now i hear that the third album is going to be ULTRA minimalistic and all experimental. it's not like i don't want or expect sigur ros to change their sound, it's just that i wasn't prepared for it. i don't know. i don't know really what i'm saying. i get all muddled when i try to talk about the aspect of change in my favorite bands.

if you're interested, you can read the press release about the new album here. at least tell me what you think if you do read it... i need someone to tell me i'm a fucking idiot for getting so riled up.

in other news, which is also a bit oddly emotional for me, only two days until coldplay's new album. one day for those of you in the UK. i almost can't believe that the release date is finally here. i'm used to just waiting for it, counting down the days to it, and angsting about it. after it comes out and i've bought it, and listened to it, and fallen in love with it... then what? the cycle starts again. another two years of impatience. uggghh... i need to find something new to do with my life...

<< - >>

design