old | new | guestbook | profile | e-mail | aim | personal | fanzine | clix me | host

i have found my true purpose!
<<2002-09-15 - 7:48 pm>>

I GOT A BASS TODAY!

friday night, sam came over. he slept over... we went out to newbury street and stuff. but we stayed up too late and then we were too tired the next day. we had to catch an early train back to newburyport so sam could get to his viola lesson. that's all the boring details.

anyway sunday night, sam and i played this talent show for his local church that wasn't really like a church, it was like... um... i don't really know. anyway, it was fun, even though we planned to play three songs of his - glory (liz phair cover), maggie and moonlight. i would have played bass for two of those and then tambourine (LIKE BEN GAUTREY! er...YEAH!) for glory. but anyway it was so great. i screwed up more times than i could count but all the old spiritual church members in attendance gave us a standing ovation when we were done.

anyway, i came home after that... and i told mom all about it and she was really insane about it. she was like "SOMETHING YOU'RE INTERESTED IN? MUSIC? WHAT'S THIS?" so once she kind of gave the go-ahead on this whole bass thing, we went to a local used music store, got a bass and an amp (for $370!!) and then i went home and played for about six hours straight. typing is agony. my index finger feels like shredded meat. and i have a HUGE bruise on my left leg from when i sat down with the bass in my lap and bashed it against my shin. (bass = big and bulky. me = uncoordinated and oblivious. chaos!)

between playing bass and struggling to figure out strokes tablatures (i can play 'someday'... badly) i took time to rub it in amongst my friends that i was now the proud owner of a brand new, bright red bass.

i have named it... julian.

next on my agenda: catchy stage name!

band of the day: sahara hotnights

<< - >>

design